Breaking News

Saka Energi, Mubadala, Premier Oil win Indonesia oil-gas blocks auction

JAKARTA ( – PT Saka Energi Sepinggan, a subsidiary of PT Saka Energi and Mubadala Petroleum (SE Asia) of Middle East and Premier Oil have won oil and gas working areas auction held by the Indonesian Energy and Mineral Resources Ministry.

PT Saka Energi Sepinggan was awarded as the winner for two Working A reas (wilayah kerja/WK), namely Pekawai WK, and West Yamdena WK. Saka Energi, in return, was a subsidiary of Indonesia’s national gas distributor PT Perusahaan Gas Negara Tbk (IDX:PGAS).

Mubadala Petroleum (SE Asia) Ltd has been awarded as the winner for Andaman I WK. Mubadala was the only bidder for the Adaman I working area.

The Energy and Mineral Resources Ministry awarded the Consortium  of Premier Oil Far East Ltd, KrissEnergy (Andaman II) BV, Mbadala Petroleum (Adaman II JSA) Ltd,  as the winner for Andaman II.

There were three participants which were interested in the block. The other two were Repsol Exploracion SA and PT Energy Mega Persada Tbk.

The fifth working area, namely Merak-Lampung, was grabbed by PT Tasri Madjid Energy. The company was the only bidders for the Working Area.

PT Saka Energi Sepinggan, a subsidiary of PT Saka Energi, was awarded as the

The auction process of the working areas began in May last year, where 10 WKs were offered. Until the last day for document submission set on Dec. 29, 2017, the energy ministry only received seven bid documents, bidding for 5 Working Areas.

The energy ministry said there were no participants that were interested on the South Tuna WK. The above five Working Areas were offered through direct offer process.

In addition to the above Working Areas, there were four other Working Areas that failed to attract the interest of bidders, namely Kasuri III, Tongkol, East Tanimbar and Memberamo Working Areas. These Working Areas were offered through regular tender process. These working areas are expected to be offered in the next round of oil and gas WK auctions.

The Energy and Mineral Resources Ministry said the five winners are committed to invest US$23.58 million to carry out exploration activities.

The government receives US$3.25 million in signature bonus. (*)

Check Also

Pertamina takes over the operatorship of Sanga-Sanga block

JAKARTA ( - State-owned energy company PT Pertamina today (Aug. 8) officially takes over the ...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *